You make a plan and God laughs..

So I’m not the most religious person at all, in fact I’ve probably been the least religious person for a while now but we’ll save that story for another post. I once heard this saying “if you want to make God laugh, tell him about your plans” and it’s really stuck with me over the years. I think it’s pretty self-explanatory but for anyone a little unsure it basically means don’t bother trying to make plans because God already has all the plans for your life. I love this saying, I don’t know what it is about it but it literally plays over and over in my mind all the time. It just makes so much sense. But then every now and again, when I’m in my thoughts, it absolutely confuses the life out of me. At face value, like I said it’s pretty understandable but for me, here’s where it gets tricky:

  • I’m sure I’m not the only one but most of the time, I’m all about going out there and getting whatever the hell I want. I very much believe in fighting for what I want and all the rest of it but then someone comes along and says something along the lines of “if it’s meant to be, it will be” and suddenly my mind is blown. What the hell does that even mean? As human beings, we’re constantly stuck or torn between two ideas and these are the two I battle with the most. Do I go out there and fight for what I want because I want it badly, or do I sit back and wait because everything happens for a reason and God has a plan????
  • I can’t think of anybody who doesn’t believe in and hasn’t preached to somebody else to sit down and think of your goals and make plans etc. So everyone around me tells me the right thing to do is to make plans for my life as I can’t just “wing” it, yet religion says leave it all in God’s hands. And no, I’m not the most religious person but I definitely believe in God. So once again, I’m torn between being a organised human being with well thought out plans and ideas or a believer who leaves it all down to God’s plans.

My solution to this is just to go with the flow and do whatever feels right at the time. There are so many pressures and influences all around us telling us what the right thing to do is. I decided a long time ago there is no “right way”. I decided that this is my life and unfortunately it doesn’t come with a rule book or a guidance book for how to get through it in the best way so I just take everything as it comes. I had so many huge plans for my life that completely fell through with no chance of building them back and I guess that was all part of God’s plan for me. I no longer want to make plans, I have ideas of course and I know all the things I want but I realised that life has a way of showing you that He’s in charge. Situations occur that you never expected but I conquer this by taking it all in my stride. I used to get so angry and upset at the world when my plans didn’t work out but there’s just no point. Move on. Focus on the things that keep you happy. a72ae4e0c5fd5d44efdf20e006eb57db

Feel free to contact me!
Elisekirsten xo.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Why do I blog?

Leave a Reply

