How I’ve lost weight!

I’ve always loved keeping fit and going to the gym. I’ll be honest, I’ve never been good at sticking to a healthy diet and I give in to cravings so easily but I definitely love working out! About 6 months ago now I was doing an Insanity workout video and ended up injuring my knee. I’m honestly quite a clumsy person and I actually hurt myself a lot lol so when I first had pains in my knee and leg I just thought it would sort itself out and I’d be fine but half a year later and it’s only gotten worse! I realised maybe a little too late that this wasn’t something that was just going to fix itself so I finally went to multiple doctors who all said “my goodness how have you done that, that’s a proper footballer injury” and now everyday I think ‘well maybe if I was a bloody footballer, I would definitely be on the road to recovery!’

On my worst days I can barely walk so from quite early on I’d completely cut out the gym and any kind of exercise. Six months and barely any exercise means of course I started putting on weight. I’ve never really cared enough to take note of how many pounds I put on or lose, I focus more on my appearance and I was definitely gaining some extra chub. I just remember eating any and everything and not even thinking about how it would impact my body. Just before my injury I was developing abs and my body was quite toned and as of lately, I just hadn’t been happy with how my body had been looking. It started to get me down because I really loved working out and cardio was probably my fav but I just felt like there was nothing I could do to really shift this extra weight the way I wanted to and knew how.

Naturally I began to lose weight through stress and that’s about the only thing I can thank all my stresses for but I wanted to maintain my weight and lose a little extra so I decided to look into a healthy eating regime. And then along came Protein World! I’d always been a bit sceptical about these weight loss programs mainly because of a lack of knowledge but it doesn’t hurt to try right? I use the Slender Blend protein powder as a meal replacement once/twice a day for breakfast and lunch and have small snacks in between if necessary. I have the chocolate and vanilla flavour (I prefer vanilla) and I mix mine with water. I’ve had it with milk too but I find it’s a bit too thick and anything with milk like milkshakes etc always makes me feel sick so water works best for me!

At the moment, I have a shake for breakfast and something light for lunch like a chicken salad and some fruit and maybe a light pasta or salmon for dinner. It’s not easy. I just wanted to make that clear because I have cravings and temptations as I’m sure we all do but I’ve kind of promised myself to make a conscious effort this time in staying healthy!

I hope this helps for anyone in a similar situation.

Elisekirsten xo.

Leave a Reply

