Why do I blog?

I feel like I’ve spoken so frequently on the recent unplanned changes in my life and so often I get asked questions such as “what do you do now?” or “what made you start blogging?” All I’ve learnt so far is that life is crazy and unexpected and like I mentioned in one of my previous posts there’s just no point trying to make plans sometimes because God might have other ideas for you!

I used to blog when I was younger but it was all very immature and lacked so much depth, however I did really enjoy it so I decided that my new years resolution would be to start blogging seriously. For those who have been reading since my very first post would know that I started by talking about something very personal, my mental health. I was so anxious about putting something so personal out to the public. So many people would be reading it; my friends, family, people I know of and strangers. But nothing could prepare me for the aftermath of that first post. I was so shocked and quite overwhelmed by the amount of people who had reached out to me because they could relate or had felt something similar. Some were people I knew and some I see everyday so it really caught me by surprise to know that there were people so close to home who were dealing with similar situations just as I was.

I was in a very low place at that time and suddenly, people were turning to me for advice and support. It might sound like nothing but it was an unbelievable feeling that just hasn’t stopped. As much as I absolutely love what I do, I have low days, I take breaks from my life. I have days where I just don’t even want to look at my phone and hide away in my room watching crappy tv all day. Although I try to speak from a positive and motivating outlook, I’m still human and I still feel things so I hope my posts never give off the impression that I’m perfectly fine now or I’m “cured”. But still, the support and messages I receive fuel my need to write even more. I try not to limit myself to just one topic or one aspect because I’ve realised that no matter what I write, somebody will be able to relate or take something from my words. I find myself talking to people I would have never approached before, speaking on personal matters. I’m being linked to organisations and companies and I am seriously enjoying it all.

Fast forward a few months and I’ve found this new venture in life, I have been working on a few projects that I’m really excited to share and put out for everyone. In summary, I started blogging as a form of personal release and a start to my journey but my reasons for continuing and sticking to it is always the support I get from it all. Knowing that people take the time out to read my posts and the feedback I receive is unreal. Thank you!

I hope this helps lovelies.

Elisekirsten xo.

Leave a Reply

