The BIG chop!

“A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life” – Coco Chanel.

This will probably be posted on Tuesday, which by then it would be four days since I did my big chop! And before any minds start wondering, no this is not my version of a Britney Spears 2007 breakdown. I had seen quite a few girls with really short cuts and I loved how it looked but I was so convinced it wouldn’t suit me at all. I was thinking I had a really big head and a big forehead so I’d practically look bald which wasn’t the look I was going for.

In the short hand of the story and reason behind my chop, I honestly woke up on Wednesday morning and ended up styling my hair in a slicked back low bun. I looked in the mirror and thought ‘maybe I would look good with really short hair’ and I took that thought and ran with it. I’ve been very impulsive lately, not necessarily in a bad way I don’t think. But I get an idea in my mind and suddenly I’m set on it. Anyway, I started looking at short curly hair cuts and suddenly became more and more obsessed with the thought of cutting all my hair off. I started searching for the best hair salons and hair dresser’s around even though I already had one lol. I just became so excited about it, it was something I’d never done before, I hated having my hair cut I’d feel so upset if I even had to trim my ends.

All the research I had done was pointless because by Thursday, I was just too excited and decided I was going to my usual hairdresser so I called to make an appointment and was shocked to get one for Friday morning! So now I was starting to feel anxious, I was thinking what if it looks terrible??? I’d have to wear wigs until it grows out again! I hadn’t told anybody about this new change, not even my mum! She was the only person who knew I was having something done simply because I had to get the salon’s number from her but other than that nobody had a clue.

I feel soooo happy that I cut all my hair off. I would have never done anything like this a year ago but honestly I feel such a sense of freeness. I suddenly have so many less worries because I didn’t realise how much of a burden and pressure it was to have all that curly hair. Without sounding over the top, it feels liberating to not have these worries anymore. I would spend so much money on hair products and I would get so frustrated at having to do my hair everyday. I needed a change and this is honestly perfect for what I needed. It was so exciting showing people this ‘new me’ and seeing everyone’s reaction was priceless. I was always known as the girl with the long curly hair and it gets old to be honest, so it will be interesting to see what I get named for now that’s all gone. I’ll post some before’s and after’s so you can all see the difference!

dscn0745

IMG_1782 IMG_1755

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

